LibGuides: Labor Law Selected Bibliography: Federal Labor Relations

General Information

The Developing Labor Law: The Board, the Courts, and the National Labor Relations Act, by John E. Higgins (6th edition, 2012) (with 2016 supplement)

BNA Labor Relations Classification Outline - By Topic

STU Law Access- St. Thomas University Law Library Digital Library, BNA available athttp://laborandemploymentlaw.bna.com/lerc/view/iov_display.adp?vname=lelrtop

BNA Government Employee Relations Report

STU Law Access- St. Thomas University Law Library Digital Library, BNA available at http://news.bna.com/grln/

National Labor Relations Act (Wagner Act) - Pub. L. 74-198, 49 Stat. 452. Currently codified as: 29 U.S.C. §§151-169

Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Unclassified Collection, North Reading Room - Shelf 107A
STU Access- Via Westlaw or LexisNexis
Public Access- Cornell Legal Information Institute, available athttps ://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29/chapter-7/subchapter-II
Legislative History (STU Law Access)- HeinOnline, available athttp://heinonline.org/HOL/CumulativeContents?collection=leghis&documents=natlra0001,natlra0002

Labor Management Relations Act (Taft-Hartley Act) - Pub. L. 80-101, 61 Stat. 136. Currently codified as: 29 U.S.C. §§401-531

Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Unclassified Collection, North Reading Room - Shelf 107A
STU Access- Via Westlaw or LexisNexis
Public Access- Cornell Legal Information Institute, available athttps ://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29/chapter-7/subchapter-II
Note- Amended the National Labor Relations Act
Legislative History (STU Law Access)- HeinOnline, available athttps ://heinonline.org/HOL/CumulativeContents?collection=leghis&documents=labman0001,labman0002

Labor Management Cooperation Act - Pub. L. 95-524, 92 Stat. 1909

Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Unclassified Collection, North Reading Room - Shelf 106B
STU Access- Via Westlaw or LexisNexis
Public Access- Cornell Legal Information Institute, available athttps ://www.law.cornell.edu/topn/labor_management_cooperation_act_of_1978
Note- Amended the National Labor Relations Act

Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure Act (Landrum-Griffin Act) - Pub. L. 86-257, 73 Stat. 519-546

Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Unclassified Collection, North Reading Room - Shelf 106B
STU Access- Via Westlaw or LexisNexis
Public Access- Dept. of Labor, available at https://www.dol.gov/olms/regs/statutes/lmrda-act.htm
Note- Regulates the internal affairs of labor unions.
Legislative History (STU Law Access)- HeinOnline, available athttps ://www.heinonline.org/HOL/CumulativeContents?collection=leghis&documents=labmanrepd0001,labmanrepd0002,labmanrepd0003,labmanrepd0004,labmanrepd0005,labmanrepd0006,labmanrepd0007

Federal Service Labor-Management Relations Act (Civil Service Reform Act) - Pub. L. 95-454, 92 Stat. 1111

Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Unclassified Collection, North Reading Room - Shelf 104
STU Access- Via Westlaw or LexisNexis
Public Access- Cornell Legal Information Institute, available athttp://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/5/ch71.html, and FLRA available at http://www.flra.gov/statute

National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)

Public Access- NLRB, available at http://www.nlrb.gov
Note- Provides labor relations and union support for private sector employees and employers

Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA)

Public Access- FLRA, available at http://www.flra.gov
Note- Provides labor support and dispute resolution for public employees (excluding postal employees).