Labor Law Selected Bibliography

This guide outlines various sources and materials available via the STU Law Library or government websites.  Please use the tabs to the left to navigate this bibliography.

Labor Law in a Nutshell, by Douglas L. Leslie (5th edition, 2008)

• Call Number- KF3369.3 .L39 2008
• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Study Aids

Employment Law in a Nutshell, by Robert N. Covington (4th edition, 2017)

• Call Number- KF3455 .C68 2017
• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Study Aids

Employment Law (Hornbook series), by Mark A. Rothstein et. al. (5th edition, 2015)

• Call Number- KF3455 .E4682 2015
• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Reserve

Understanding Labor Law, by Douglas E. Ray (3rd edition, 2011)

• Call Number- KF3319 .R39 2011
• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Study Aids

Department of Labor - Employment Law Guide

• Public Access- Dept. of Labor, available at http://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/elg/index.htm
• Note- Provides information and resources on major labor and employment laws and regulations, as well as technical assistance for employers and employees.

Title 29 United States Code - Labor

• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Unclassified Collection, Shelf 107A
• STU Law Access- via Westlaw or Lexis Nexis
• Public Access- Cornell Legal Information Institute, available at https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29
• Note- Specific acts and statutory provisions will be found below, according to their particular purpose or area of law.

1. Department of Labor Agencies
2.  
   • Public Access- Department of Labor, available at https://www.dol.gov/
    

   Bureau of Labor Statistics

   • Public Access- Bureau of Labor Statistics, available at https://www.bls.gov/
   • Note- The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, state and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor.
    

   Employee Benefits Security Administration (EBSA)

   • Public Access- Dept. of Labor, available at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa
   • Note- Responsible for administering the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA).
    

   Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA)

   • Public Access- Dept. of Labor, available at https://www.msha.gov/
   • Note- The purpose of the Mine Safety and Health Administration is to prevent death, disease, and injury from mining, and to promote safe and healthful workplaces for the nation's miners.
    

   Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

   • Public Access- Dept. of Labor, available at https://www.osha.gov/
   • Note- OSHA was created to assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women, by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education, and assistance.
    

   Wage and Hour Division

   • Public Access- Dept. of Labor, available at https://www.dol.gov/whd/
   • Note- The DOL Wage and Hour Division (WHD) is responsible for enforcing some of our nation's most comprehensive federal labor laws, including the minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping, child labor and special employment, family and medical leave, migrant workers, lie detector tests, worker protections in certain temporary worker programs, and the prevailing wages for government service and construction contracts.
3. Other Relevant Agencies

4. Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA)

   • Public Access- FLRA, available at https://www.flra.gov
   • Note- The FLRA is an independent administrative federal agency created by Title VII of the Civil Service Reform Act, allowing certain non-postal federal employees to organize, bargain collectively, and participate, through labor organizations of their choice, in decisions affecting their working lives.
    

   National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)

   • Public Access- NLRB, available at https://nlrb.gov/
   • Note- The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency, vested with the power to safeguard employees' rights to organize and to determine whether to have unions as their bargaining representatives. The agency also acts to prevent and remedy unfair labor practices committed by private-sector employers and unions.
    

   Equal Opportunity Employment Commission (EEOC)

   • Public Access- EEOC, available at https://eeoc.gov/
   • Note- The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information. It is also illegal to discriminate against a person because the person complained about discrimination, filed a charge of discrimination, or participated in an employment discrimination investigation or lawsuit.
    

   Social Security Administration (SSA)

   • Public Access- SSA, available at https://www.ssa.gov/
    

   National Mediation Board (NMB)

   • Public Access- EEOC, available at http://nmb.gov/
   • Note- The National Mediation Board (NMB), established by the 1934 amendments to the Railway Labor Act of 1926, is an independent U.S. Federal-government agency that facilitates labor-management relations within the nation's railroad and airline industries. Pursuant to the Railway Labor Act, NMB programs provide dispute-resolution processes to effectively meet its statutory objectives: avoiding interruption to commerce or to the operation of any carrier; forbidding any limitation upon freedom of association among employees; providing for the prompt and orderly settlement of all disputes concerning rates of pay, rules, or working conditions; and providing for the prompt and orderly settlement of all disputes growing out of grievances related to the implementation and management of collective bargaining agreements.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) (particularly Title 29 - Labor)

• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Unclassified Collection, North Reading Room - Shelf 107B
• STU Access- Via Westlaw or LexisNexis
• Public Access- govinfo, available at https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/CFR

Federal Register

• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library Unclassified Collection, North Reading Room - Shelf 107B
• STU Access- Via Westlaw or LexisNexis
• Public Access- govinfo, available at https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/FR

United States Department of Labor - CFR Pertaining to Department of Labor

• Public Access- DOL, available at https://www.dol.gov/general/cfr