Human Trafficking Selected Bibliography

Frank Laczko et al., Migration for Development: Within and Beyond Frontiers (2006).

• A collection of articles analyzing and critiquing empirical studies on human trafficking. Articles consider the problem of accurately quantifying human trafficking victims, data collection methods, and information gaps.
• Call Number- HQ281 .D38 2006
• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library General Collection

E. Benjamin Skinner, A Crime So Monstrous: Face-to-Face with Modern-Day Slavery (2009).

• Skinner's gripping personal account detailed his immersion into the human trafficking industry. Skinner spent four years traveling and infiltrating slave trade networks located all around the world: including but not limited to suburban America, Sudan's tribal regions, and labor camps in India.
• Call Number- HT871 .S49 2009
• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library General Collection

Anthony M. DeStefano, The War on Human Trafficking: U.S. Policy Assessed (2007).

• DeStefano tracked the legislative responses taken by the United States to end trafficking, including the passing of the Trafficking Victims Protection Act (TVPA) of 2000, and measures the efficacy of this legislation has had in ending human trafficking. This work helps readers look beyond the world of sensational media, with revolving door stories of the evils of human trafficking, and see the ongoing war against modern day slavery.
• Call Number- HQ125.U6 D47 2007
• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library General Collection
• STU Law Access- EBSCOhost eBook Collection, available at http://proxy.stu.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=217811&site=ehost-live

Amy O'Neill Richard, International Trafficking in Women to the United States: A Contemporary Manifestation of Slavery and Organized Crime (2000).

• Richard's study was an early US government funded study of human trafficking, and has been quoted frequently in government reports, books, and articles. This report analyzed international networks, legal and government actions against human trafficking, and economic and social factors tied to human trafficking.
• Public Access- Center for the Study of Intelligence, available at https://www.cia.gov/library/center-for-the-study-of-intelligence/csi-publications/books-and-monographs/trafficking.pdf

Phil Williams et al., Illegal Immigration and Commercial Sex: The New Slave Trade (Phil Williams ed., 1999).

• Collection of articles outlining the current slave trade: including causes, facilitators, international and national response, secondary effects. The article's scope can be general to very specific (e.g., human trafficking in Thailand).
• Call Number- HV6252 .I45 1999
• Location- St. Thomas University Law Library General Collection

Jean Bruggeman & Elizabeth Keyes, Meeting the Legal Needs of Human Trafficking Victims: An Introduction for Domestic Violence Attorneys & Advocates (2009).

• An introductory practice guide that identifies methods of identifying trafficking victims, intersection between human trafficking and domestic violence cases, civil legal remedies available to human trafficking victims, resources available to attorneys/advocates, and overall practice tips.
• Public Access- American Bar Association, available athttps://www.americanbar.org/content/dam/aba/migrated/2011_build/domestic_violence/dv_trafficking.authcheckdam.pdf
•