LibGuides: Environmental Law Selected Bibliography: Federal Law

Federal Statutes

Location- St. Thomas University Law Library, Unclassified Collection, Shelf 107A
STU Law Access- via LexisNexis or Westlaw
Public Access- govinfo (GPO), available at https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/USCODE or Cornell Legal Information Institute (LII), available at http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text

Acronym/Popular Name	Law	Statutory Citation	Regulatory Citation	Purpose
Antiquities Act	Act for the Preservation of American Antiquities	54 U.S.C. §§ 320301-320303 Pub. L. 59-206 34 Stat. 225	43 C.F.R. 3	Allows the president to create National Monuments by setting aside lands and objects of historic and scientific interest. Legislative History - Public Access NOAA, available at https://coast.noaa.gov/data/Documents/OceanLawSearch/Summary%20of%20Law%20-%20Antiquities%20Act.pdf
CAA	Clean Air Act	42 U.S.C. §§ 7401 et seq. Pub. L. 88-206 77 Stat. 392	40 C.F.R. 49-97, 122-124, 144-145, 270-271	Regulates air emissions. Legislative History - STU Law Access HeinOnline, available at http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=leghis/caaa&collection=leghis
CERCLA	Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act of 1980 (amended by SARA)	42 U.S.C. §§ 9601 et seq. Pub. L. 96-510 94 Stat. 2767	40 C.F.R. 300-312	Governs clean-up responsibilities for historic hazardous waste sites. Legislative History - STU Law Access HeinOnline, available at http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=leghis/cercla&collection=leghis
CWA	Clean Water Act	33 U.S.C. §§ 1251 et seq. Pub. L 92-500 86 Stat. 816	40 C.F.R. 104-136, 140, 144-145, 230-233, 401-471, 501-503	Regulates discharge of pollutants into the water. Legislative History - STU Law Access HeinOnline, available at http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=leghis/cwtrat&collection=leghis
EPCRA (SARA Title III)	Emergency Planning & Community Right to Know Act	42 U.S.C. §§ 11001 et seq. Pub. L. 99-499 100 Stat. 1728	40 C.F.R. 302, 355, 370, 372	Requires disclosure of the storage of hazardous substances, public notification, and procedures for response in the event of a release of hazardous substances. Legislative History - STU Law Access ProQuest Congressional, available at https://congressional.proquest.com/congressional/docview/t33.d34.99_pl_499?accountid=14129
ESA	Endangered Species Act	16 U.S.C. §§ 1531 et seq. Pub. L. 93-205 87 Stat. 884	50 C.F.R. 17.1 et seq.	Regulates and conserves threatened and endangered species and their habitats. Legislative History - STU Law Access ProQuest Congressional, available at https://congressional.proquest.com/congressional/docview/t33.d34.94_pl_359?accountid=14129
FIFRA	Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act	7 U.S.C. §§ 136 et seq. Pub. L. 61-15236 Stat. 331	29 C.F.R. 1440.1; 40 C.F.R. 32.100 et seq., 152-168, 180.1	Regulates pesticides.
FLPMA	Federal Land Policy Management Act	43 U.S.C. §§ 1701 et seq. Pub. L. 94-579 90 Stat. 2743		Governs how the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) administers public lands. Legislative History - STU Law Access ProQuest Congressional, available at https://congressional.proquest.com/congressional/docview/t33.d34.94_pl_579?accountid=14129
NEPA	National Environmental Policy Act of 1969	42 U.S.C. §§ 4321 et seq. Pub. L. 91-190 83 Stat. 852	40 C.F.R. 6, 1500-1508; 7 C.F.R. 520; 10 C.F.R. 1021	Establishes a broad national framework for protecting the environment. Imposes environmental responsibilities on all federal agencies and requires agencies to write environmental impact statements. Legislative History - STU Law Access HeinOnline, available at http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=leghis/natepa&collection=leghis
NHPA	National Historic Preservation Act of 1966	16 U.S.C. §§ 470 et seq. Pub. L. 89-665 80 Stat. 915	36 C.F.R. 800	Requires federal agencies to take account of the effect of any undertaking on certain historic properties.
Organic Act	National Park Service Organic Act of 1916	16 U.S.C. §§ 1 et seq. 39 Stat. 535	36 C.F.R. 1-199	Regulates and controls hazardous waste and manages non-hazardous waste. Amended by the Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendments of 1984 (HSWA) to require phasing out land disposal of hazardous waste. Legislative History - STU Law Access ProQuest Congressional, available at https://congressional.proquest.com/congressional/docview/t33.d34.94_pl_580?accountid=14129
RCRA	Resource Conservation and Recovery Act	42 U.S.C. §§ 6901 et seq. Pub. L. 94-580 90 Stat. 2795	40 C.F.R. 144-148, 260-299	Regulates and controls hazardous waste and manages non-hazardous waste. Amended by the Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendments of 1984 (HSWA) to require phasing out land disposal of hazardous waste. Legislative History - STU Law Access ProQuest Congressional, available at https://congressional.proquest.com/congressional/docview/t33.d34.94_pl_580?accountid=14129
SARA	Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act	42 U.S.C. §§ 9601 et seq. Pub. L. 99-499 100 Stat. 1613	40 C.F.R. 300-312, 355, 373	Amended CERCLA. Legislative History - STU Law Access ProQuest Congressional, available at https://congressional.proquest.com/congressional/docview/t33.d34.99_pl_499?accountid=14129
TSCA	Toxic Substances Control Act	15 U.S.C. §§ 2601 et seq. Pub. L. 94-469 90 Stat. 2003	40 C.F.R. 700-799	Regulates industrial chemicals produced or imported into the United States. Legislative History - STU Law Access HeinOnline, available at http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=leghis/txsca&collection=leghis
Wilderness Act	Wilderness Act of 1964	16 U.S.C. §§ 1131-1136 Pub. L. 88-577 78 Stat. 890	43 C.F.R. 6300 (regarding public lands) 36 C.F.R. 293 (regarding national parks, national forests, etc.)	Created the National Wilderness Preservation System, meant to identify and protect wilderness areas.

Code of Federal Regulations

Title 40 - Protection of Environment

Location- St. Thomas University Law Library, Unclassified Collection - Shelf 107B
STU Law Access- via Westlaw and LexisNexis.
Public Access- GPO (govinfo), available at https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/CFR, or Cornell Legal Information Institute (LII), available at https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/40
(Note- GPO (govinfo) provides access only to the Annual CFR editions from 1996-present. For the most current, yet unofficial, information, check the Cornell Legal Information Institute, or GPO's eCFR, available at https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=72f367a89ed4ad29e926595cb37fd0fd&mc=true&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40tab_02.tpl).

Title 36 - Parks, Forests, and Public Property

Location- St. Thomas University Law Library, Unclassified Collection - Shelf 107B.
STU Law Access- via Westlaw or LexisNexis
Public Access- GPO (govinfo)), available at https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/CFR, or Cornell Legal Information Institute (LII), available at https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/36
(Note- - GPO (govinfo) provides access only to the Annual CFR editions from 1996-present. For the most current, yet unofficial, information, check the Cornell Legal Information Institute, or GPO's eCFR, available at https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=b0fcfd8a34cd0ab3506737f31f55a551&mc=true&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title36/36tab_02.tpl).

Title 43 - Public Lands; Interior

Location- St. Thomas University Law Library, Unclassified Collection - Shelf 107B
STU Law Access via Westlaw and LexisNexis
Public Access- GPO (govinfo), available at https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/CFR or Cornell Legal Information Institute (LII), available at https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/43
(Note- GPO (govinfo) provides access only to the Annual CFR editions from 1996-present. For the most current, yet unofficial, information, check the Cornell Legal Information Institute, or GPO's eCFR, available at https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=b0fcfd8a34cd0ab3506737f31f55a551&mc=true&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title43/43tab_02.tpl).