Education Law - Secondary Sources
The Law of Schools, Students and Teachers in a Nutshell (5th ed. 2015) / by Kern Alexander and M. David Alexander.
- This nutshell summarizes the major Education Law topics, citing to major cases and statutes. Why use a nutshell? You will get an overview of major Education Law issues, and you can learn Education Law legal terminology and build a good foundation to better understand case law and statutes.
- Call Number: KF4119.3 .A43 2015
- Location: St. Thomas University Law Library Study Aids
Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education (2010) / by Charles J. Russo.
- This encyclopedia, edited by Charles Russo, specifically covers various legal issues affecting higher education. The encyclopedia provides a clear and concise process for legal research, with entries arranged alphabetically. This resource is also useful because each entry directs readers to related legal concepts that are discussed in the encyclopedia (whether entries or cases), provides a list of suggested readings (e.g., journal articles on the issue), and lists legal citations.
- Call Number: KF4225.A68 E53 2010
- Location: St. Thomas University Law Library Reference
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (3d. ed. 2011)
- The topics include a general history, a description of federal and state law, First Amendment, Fourth Amendment Search and Seizure, Separation of Church and State, Racial Segregation, Education of Children with Disabilities, Employment Issues, and Administrative Issues. This source is written in plain English and designed to provide legal information to non-legally trained individuals. Still, the encyclopedia provides good background knowledge about key Education Law issues.
- Call Number: KF154 .W47 2011
- Location: St. Thomas University Law Library Reference
Education Law (James A. Rapp, ed.)
- This seven-volume set provides extensive coverage of state and federal Education Law. The set also has forms and reference material, including tables that list applicable state statutes for several major Education Law topics. By far the most inclusive Education Law source, it is often utilized by practitioners.
- Access Available on LexisNexis (search RAPP in LexisNexis' "Find a Source").
Courts and Kids: Pursuing Educational Equity Through the State Courts (2009) / by Rebell, Michael A.
- This book outlined successful steps for litigating Education Law in state court, discussed policy and constitutional issues, and looked at legal mechanisms (e.g., injunctions) that courts used to ensure that students received a more equal education. A good read for those interested in a career related to Education Law.
- STU Access: St. Thomas University students have access to this work through the Digital Library, in EBSCO's eBook Collection.
