St. Thomas University Law Library strives to provide the law school's student body and staff with reserve collections that include the most recent editions of high-demand materials. The library maintains three separately located reserve collections. The Academic Reserve collection is located behind the reference desk, and the materials are organized alphabetically by Professor's last name. The Permanent Reserve collection is also located behind the circulation desk. The Study Aid Reserve collection is located behind the Circulation Desk. Please ask a library staff member for assistance accessing these materials.
Study Aid Reserve houses current editions of selected study aid materials. These resources are shelved by call number and located behind the Circulation Desk. Study aid reserve materials are available for check out to students for a twenty-four-hour loan period, with a single renewal allowed, and can be removed from the law library.
The Permanent Reserve Collection includes the most highly sought-after materials in the law library. Some of these materials are hornbooks, nutshells, popular treatises, legal reference materials, and classic works. Most Permanent Reserve materials circulate for four hours and can be removed from the library. Multi-volume sets housed in Permanent Reserve do not circulate. Please provide the call number of the item you are interested in checking out to the circulation staff.
Academic Reserve includes resources placed on reserve upon request of a faculty member who is teaching a course during the semester. The materials on reserve may include books, journal articles, and photocopied materials. A/V materials held on Academic Reserve are available by making a request for these items at the circulation desk. Items on Academic Reserve are the types of material that the faculty believe are necessary and, at times, even required for the course, but do not wish the students to purchase. Academic Reserve materials may have special circulation rules as determined by the faculty member depositing the material for circulation. Please ask the library staff about these materials.
