The first year of law school presents many challenges - not the least of which is finding enough time to read and understand assigned case readings. This case-based learning methodology involves reading, extracting important facts, analyzing legal precedents, and applying these concepts to a larger legal framework. If you find yourself struggling with a case, or with applying a case to the larger legal framework, try using some of the library's resources. The Law Library's Study Aids collection has several legal resources that help attorneys and students learn legal concepts and understand how they fit into an area of the law. Study aids include Hornbooks, Treatises, Nutshells, Restatements, Black Letter books, and Computer Assisted Programs. This handout identifies select books and resources that will assist you in your first year of law school, organized by subject and by general resources type.
The St. Thomas University Law Library Study Aids collection is located on the first floor, behind the Reference/Circulation Desk. Books in this collection will have a "(Study Aids)" sticker following the call number. Many Hornbooks are also in the Law Library Reserve section, located at circulation. These books will have "(Reserve)" following the call number. Others are in the reference or general collections, and will be labeled accordingly (i.e., "(Reference)" or "(General Collection)"). Additionally, many of these study aids are available via our online study databases.
Books: Legal books typically provide commentary on trends in the law, often recommending changes in the law. The library also has books that help with legal research, writing, and law school life.
Computer-Assisted Programs: Computer-assisted programs are tools students can use that provide instruction and exercises on a given area of law. The library has both software and web-based materials. One of the most used computer-assisted programs for legal education is CALI, which has multiple lessons supplementing 1L courses.
Hornbooks: Hornbooks are broad, subject-specific books by experts in their fields. They are more comprehensive than legal encyclopedias, and often focus on specific legal topics. These resources are good ready reference materials, because they provide the general state of the law, explain select cases and laws, and cite to other useful secondary legal resources. Note: West publishes a hornbook series, characterized by its green covers. This series is selective and well known; however, other subject-specific books can also help students learn the law.
Nutshells: Nutshells are hornbooks that are typically more general than other hornbooks. Nutshell series summarize the major topics within an area of law, citing to major cases and statutes. Why use a nutshell? You will get an overview of major education law issues, learn education law legal terminology, and build a good foundation to better understand case law and statutes.
Restatements: Restatements are an excellent resource to learn more about general black letter law on a specific area. Most restatements summarize the majority position, provide the black letter law, and provide some commentary. However, do not rely on the restatement as the source of authority - restatements only summarize the law. Also, some rules are not summaries of the black letter law, but are instead recommendations for changes in the law. Restatements help frame a legal area, but a researcher should still use primary sources to verify the legal standards for a particular issue.
Treatises: Legal treatises are multivolume editions that provide in-depth coverage of law. A good treatise will have extensive summaries of the law, citing to applicable state and federal primary sources. A treatise is helpful when you want to know almost everything there is to know about a given area of law. Treatises are also useful for comparing state and federal law; for example, a treatise may have a survey of the corresponding state statutes for a topic.
Searching for additional resources: Check out the Law Library's online catalog (http://stu.on.worldcat.org) to find more study aids, or ask a reference librarian.
